openheart

Last night I went to a discussion about the book A Course in Miracles. One of the things that stuck with me was the teaching that love is the opposite of fear, with most people being in a perpetual state of fear.

I am seeing it everywhere today, this low-level fear and apprehension, in the eyes of people I meet on the stairs in my house (even though they say ‘hello’), in the people I pass on the street or at the bus stop. What must that fear do to your mind and body? It is the response of our ancient fight-or-flight self preservation system to the challenges of modern-day living, where overcrowding, overwork, over-stimulation and media-led panics combine with the miserable underlying truth that shopping does not actually fix anything.

I walked side by side with fear for a long time, always hyper-conscious of my self image, worried about how I interacted and terrified of dissapproval, all of this combined with misery over my unrealised potential, my loneliness and my OCD fears. It leaked out into my face, creating a catch 22 situation where my attempts to make social bonds were stymied by the inextinguishable look of terror and discomfort in my eyes.

The spiritual path that I’m on has led to the letting go of a lot of fear. A connection with the inner ‘I’ underneath my historical self and its struggles, has given me a lot of space and calm, to the extent that sitting on a bus seat opposite someone without wierding them out has become just about possible most of the time.

I feel connected with the people around me because I am not as preoccupied by my fear and it has left my face. I feel the contrast as most of them look quite wrapped up in their worries, and they sometimes look surprised, seeing that a strangers’ heart is open to them. It is quite alien to a lot people, but others you can see them relax a little and open like flowers, giving you a returning smile.

If we have a collective responsibility, maybe it’s to dissolve the fear around us with love. It can be done. It’s transformational and everybody needs it.

Leave a Reply

